Which Country Has the Most World Cup Wins?

Ever since the FIFA World Cup was established 88 years ago, this sporting event became not just a quadrennial gathering of international football talents but an international cultural phenomenon.

Since 1930, there have been 21 competitions that were held, and in all of its editions, there are only eight countries which have won the World Cup. In this list, we have ranked the countries which have won the event according to how many times they got it.

Visit for latest sports news.

Spain – 1

In the 2010 World Cup, Spain won the competition against Netherlands with a score of 1-0 with the help of a decisive goal by Andres Iniesta. The achievement of Iniesta was considered as one of the greatest goals of all time that ever happened in the World Cup. The win was their first title in the tournament. 

England – 1

Just like Spain, England has won the Cup once and it happened in 1966 when they beat West Germany with 4-2 score. Since that day, the English team has never gotten past the quarterfinals. However, everything changed when they made it to the semifinals of the 2018 World Cup, only to be defeated by Croatia.

France – 2

France have won the World Cup twice, first is in 1998 when they beat the football giants Brazil with 3-0. The second time they got the title was at the 2018 World Cup, when they battled Croatia in the finals. If Croatia defeated France that day, it would have been their first title ever. 

Uruguay – 2

If there is a nation that started it all, it is Uruguay, having won the first ever World Cup title in 1930 with a 4-2 win against Argentina. Uruguay is also the host country on that edition, and they are also the first ever host nation of the event. However, they haven’t won the Cup since 1950, only getting closer on three separate occasions.

Argentina – 2

Argentina is one of the three countries that won the World Cup twice, with their victory in 1978 against Netherlands, and in 1986 against West Germany. The latter game was special because the national team was spearheaded by their football legend, Diego Maradona, whose “the hand of God” goal has become renowned in football history.

Italy – 4

Italy is one of the nationals in the World Cup who have won the event four times, in the years of 1934, 1938, 1982, and 2006. Their first two titles were won against Czechoslovakia and Hungary. Their first two victories were very special because they held the title for 16 years, considering that there was no event held during the second World War.

Germany – 4

Germany is one of the two nationals who have won the Cup four times, they acquired them in 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014. In 1974, they won the World Cup by defeating Netherlands, it was also the event that they were also the host country. 

Brazil – 5

Since the World Cup was established in 1930, Brazil is the only country that never missed a single edition of the event. They are also the most successful team in World Cup history, having won the championship title five times. 

The first two titles were played in 1958 and 1962 respectively, and they defeated Sweden and Czechoslovakia. Their second two titles were played in 1970 and 1994, in both occasions they defeated Italy, and lastly the final title was won in 2002 against Germany.


In all of the editions of the World Cup, there have been only eight countries that have won the World Cup and those countries are either based in Europe or South America. That said, football fans have been waiting for the day that any country from Asia, North America or Africa will win the title. 

It is no surprise that Brazil is the country that has won the World Cup the most, the nation is passionate about the sport. They have integrated it into their lifestyle and culture, Brazil is truly the ‘Land of Football.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *